Home > About > The Faculty

The Faculty

At present the Faculty has seven academic Departments of study, namely, Agricultural Biology, Agricultural Economics and Extension, Agricultural Engineering, Animal Science, Crop Science, Food Science & Technology and Soil Science. The BSc (Agriculture) degree is of 4 years duration and the course is conducted in the English medium. The annual enrollment grew from 15 in 1978/79 to 150 in 1997 making the undergraduate student population in the faculty to approximately 600. A special intake was initiated in 2007 to provide an opportunity to a limited number of experienced Diploma holders in Agriculture to follow the degree program. The Faculty also offers five masters degree programs to meet the contemporary needs of the graduates in the region, this is in addition to MPhil and PhD degrees by research. Equipment and laboratory facilities for teaching and research at both undergraduate and post-graduate levels are available in each Department of Study.

The staff strength of the Faculty was increased progressively since the inception and now the Faculty has 67 permanent and approximately 15 temporary academic staff, including 7 Senior Professors and 3 Professors. In addition, the Faculty has made every endeavor to obtain the services of outstanding agricultural scientists, administrators, policy makers and planners etc. in the country to supplement and enrich the academic program. The number of visiting lecturers in the Faculty presently exceeds 50, who come from the Faculty of Agriculture of University of Peradeniya, Faculties of Science and Humanities & Social Sciences of the Universities of Ruhuna, Kelaniya and Sabaragamuwa, Coconut Research Institute, Rubber Research Institute, Tea Research Institute, Industrial Technology Institute, Export Development Board, Department of Agriculture, Department of Export Agriculture, World Bank, UNDP, and Agribusiness Council etc.